DrinCloud

Home → Blog

Buying guide

TheraNest vs Jane App vs SimplePractice: the honest three-way for a therapy practice

Ensora (formerly TheraNest), Jane and SimplePractice priced side by side at one, two and three therapists with the AI scribe on, every figure read off the vendors' own pages on November 3, 2026.

November 13, 2026 · 8 min read

First, the name. TheraNest is now Ensora Mental Health. Therapy Brands renamed itself Ensora Health in April 2025, the plans live at ensorahealth.com/pricing/mental-health/, and the company still sells the product as TheraNest by Ensora Health, so both names are current. We kept the old one in the title because that is what people type into Google. If you are reading a comparison that says TheraNest and never mentions Ensora, it has not been updated in over a year and its prices are probably wrong too.

These three get shortlisted together constantly, and most comparisons list features and stop. Features are not where this decision gets made. It gets made on the invoice at your real headcount with the AI scribe on, because in 2026 almost nobody picks a system without one. So that is what this is: the arithmetic at one, two and three therapists, with every figure read off the vendors' own pricing pages on November 3, 2026. Check yours again before you sign, because one of these three moved its entry price in the last ten weeks.

What you are actually comparing

Ensora Mental Health (TheraNest) is built around the insurance claim: claims and eligibility with a monthly allowance on the middle plan and unlimited on the top one, payer enrollment, ERAs, the Wiley Practice Planner, eRx with a PDMP check, and a revenue cycle service. Priced per therapist.

SimplePractice is the biggest name in US therapy software and sells the broadest ecosystem: template library, hosted practice website, client directory, insurance filing. Priced per clinician, with a separate per clinician price for the add-ons.

Jane App came out of allied health and moved into mental health from there. Multi discipline, multi room, strong booking, a support reputation people bring up unprompted. Priced per practitioner, and its AI is the cheapest of the three.

The published list prices

ItemEnsora (TheraNest)SimplePracticeJane App
Entry planEssentials $29 per therapistStarter $49, solo onlyBalance $59, capped at 20 appointments a month
Middle planAdvanced $59 per therapistEssential $79Practice $79, first full time practitioner
Top planPremier $89 per therapistPlus $99Thrive $99
Each extra clinicianplan price again, per therapist$74about $35 on Practice, about $40 on Thrive
AI scribeEnsai $35 per providerNote Taker $35 per clinician$15 per opted in practitioner, unlimited notes
Telehealth$12 on Essentials, included from Advancedincludedincluded, group telehealth $15 per practitioner
Card rate2.99% + $0.30not published on the pricing page2.85% + $0.25 online, 2.6% + $0.10 in person
Admin staffunlimited, free, every plannot stated on the pricing pagefree for profiles with no booked hours
Free trial21 days of Premier, no card30 daysnot published as a fixed length

Two notes. Jane's per practitioner fee is not printed in the page text, it comes out of Jane's own calculator, so treat roughly $35 as an estimate and get your quote there. And Jane listed Balance at $54 when we checked in August 2026 and lists $59 today, which is the best argument there is for re-checking every number in every comparison article, this one included.

The arithmetic at one, two and three therapists

Rules for this table, stated so you can argue with them: AI scribe on for every clinician, telehealth included, no promotions, and each vendor on the cheapest plan that carries online booking and custom intake forms. That last rule matters. Ensora's $29 Essentials plan does not include online booking, custom forms, text reminders or claims, so Advanced at $59 is the honest floor for a working practice. SimplePractice's $49 Starter is solo only, and a group has to sit on Plus.

TherapistsEnsora (Advanced)SimplePracticeJane (Practice)DrinCloud
1$94$114$94$69
2$188$243$144$159
3$282$352$194$179

How each column is built. Ensora: $59 a therapist plus $35 a therapist for Ensai. SimplePractice: $79 plus $35 for one, then Plus at $99 for the first clinician, $74 each additional, plus $35 each for Note Taker. Jane: $79 for the first practitioner, about $35 each additional, plus $15 each for unlimited Scribe. DrinCloud: $49 for one and $119 for one to three users on the annual rate, plus $20 a provider for the scribe.

At one therapist it is a dead heat between Ensora and Jane at $94, and SimplePractice is $20 a month more for a bigger ecosystem. At two and three therapists Jane is the cheapest of the three and the gap widens, because Jane charges the least for the second seat and the least for AI. SimplePractice is the most expensive at every size in this table, by a lot at three, and it is not close.

The cheaper route, and where the curves cross

Now run it again with no feature floor, each vendor on its absolute cheapest route, to show where the lines actually cross.

TherapistsEnsora (Essentials)Jane (cheapest)SimplePractice (cheapest)DrinCloud
1$64$74 on Balance, 20 appointments$84 on Starter$69
2$128$144$243$159
3$192$194$352$179
4$256$244$461$367

The crossover between Ensora and Jane is therapist number three. Below it, Ensora's $29 plan plus Ensai is cheaper than anything Jane offers. At three they are $2 apart, which is noise. From four up Jane pulls ahead and keeps pulling, because Jane's extra seat is about $35 and Ensora's is another full $59 plan.

That crossover only counts if Essentials is a plan you can work on. No online booking means clients phone or email for every appointment, no custom forms means Ensora's intake rather than yours, and no text reminders means your no-show rate is whatever email gets you. Fine for a solo therapist with a full caseload. A false economy for a practice trying to grow, and then the floor goes back to $59.

The fees that never make it into comparison articles

The AMA license line. Ensora bills $19.50 per therapist each December for the AMA CPT license. It is published, not hidden, and at six therapists it is $117 a year. Neither Jane nor SimplePractice prints a line like it. Any system shipping a licensed CPT code set pays the AMA for it, so read this as a vendor being upfront rather than a gotcha.

The second AI charge. All three charge per clinician for the seat and again per clinician for AI. At six therapists the AI line alone is $210 a month at Ensora and SimplePractice, $90 at Jane. It is the line people forget to model.

Card processing. Ensora publishes 2.99% + $0.30, Jane 2.85% + $0.25 online. Those are all in rates on the vendor's own processor, not a surcharge on top of Stripe, so compare them against standard Stripe at 2.9% + $0.30, not against zero. SimplePractice prints no rate on its pricing page. Ask for it in writing.

Admin and billing staff. Ensora gives unlimited administrative users free on every plan. Jane adds staff with no booked hours free. SimplePractice does not state it on the pricing page. If you have a full time biller and two front desk people, that answer is worth more than a feature row.

So who is each one actually for

Ensora Mental Health, if you bill insurance in mental health. That is the real answer and the rest is detail. Add the Wiley Practice Planner and group notes and it is the deepest therapy specific toolkit of the three. Take the 21 day trial of Premier with no credit card, the most generous trial in the category.

SimplePractice, if you want the largest ecosystem and do not mind paying by the seat. The template library is a real head start, the hosted website and client directory are real lead sources, and the product is the most polished of the three. At three clinicians that breadth costs $158 a month more than Jane. A defensible choice, as long as you make it on purpose.

Jane App, if you are in allied health or a multi discipline clinic. Rooms, resources, multi discipline booking, the cheapest AI of the three and free non booking staff. Watch two things: Balance's 20 appointment cap makes it a starter plan rather than a practice plan, and rooms, automated waitlists, packages and memberships live in Thrive at $99.

And DrinCloud, since it sits in the tables above: we price by practice size band instead of per seat, so one to three users is $119 and four to thirty is $287, and the scribe is $20 per provider. We do not file insurance claims, we have no e-prescribing, we are not ONC certified and we do not ship a licensed CPT code set. If you bill payers in mental health, buy Ensora and do not look back. We are for practices the client pays directly. The whole comparison, block by block, is in DrinCloud vs TheraNest, DrinCloud vs SimplePractice and DrinCloud vs Jane App, and every price we track for every vendor sits in the EHR pricing index.

Frequently asked questions

Is TheraNest being discontinued now that it is called Ensora?

No. The company renamed, the product did not go away. Ensora Health still markets it as TheraNest by Ensora Health and that pricing page is live. What changed is where to look: pricing, support and release notes all sit under ensorahealth.com now, so old bookmarks and old comparison articles point at stale numbers.

Which of the three is cheapest for a solo therapist?

On comparable plans, Ensora and Jane tie at $94 a month with AI notes on, and SimplePractice is $114. If you can live without online booking, custom forms and text reminders, Ensora's $29 Essentials plus $35 Ensai is $64 and is the cheapest route anyone publishes. Add Ensora's $19.50 AMA line each December to whichever Ensora number you use.

Does the AI scribe price really change the decision?

At one therapist, no. At five it decides it. Ensora and SimplePractice both charge $35 per clinician a month and Jane charges $15, so five clinicians is $1,200 a year of difference on the AI line alone, before a single clinical feature gets compared.

The bottom line

One therapist: Ensora and Jane tie, pick on features. Two or three: Jane is cheapest and Jane is also where the per seat math hurts least. Any size at all, if you bill insurance in mental health: Ensora, and the price question is secondary. SimplePractice is the one you choose for the ecosystem, knowing what the ecosystem costs per head.

Whatever you shortlist, do the thing most buyers skip: write down the plan price, the extra seat price and the AI price, multiply by your headcount including next year's hire, and add the extras you will really turn on. That number is the only comparison that matters, and it takes ten minutes.

DrinCloud is practice management, charting and superbills for US cash-pay practices: $49 a month for one provider on the annual rate, $119 for one to three users, $287 for four to thirty, and the AI scribe at $20 a month per provider. No claims engine, no e-prescribing, no ONC certification, all three on purpose. See the plans.

← All articles

See it in your own practice

Live in three minutes, no setup fee, cancel anytime.